Question If it was YOUR child...

Ok, so I've read everything about the new 65# limit on the LATCH and the TT being mandatory in Canada.
So, right now, I don't know if I should switch DS2 to a booster.
He is 5 yo (since yesterday!) and 50#. He is in a Frontier (harness mode) in my 2006 Mazda5 and my 2010 Toyota Sienna. The Frontier is secured with the seatbelt (LBP).
I think he would probably do well in a booster. He has food allergies so he's used to take care of his safety.
Before the controversy about LATCH, I wanted to switch him to a booster around 6 yo. But now, I'm confused.
So, if it was your child, WWYD????????
Thanks!

ADS

monica-m

CPST Instructor
If it were my child and I wasn't ready for him to ride in a booster, I would use the tether beyond the limit. I feel that the benefits of tethering outweigh any potential risk. As a tech, I would make the parent aware of the benefits of tethering as well as the fact that if the tether fails, it has already done its job and that I have never heard of one failing and I would let them decide what they want to do. I would then document their decision.

featherhead

If it were my child and I wasn't ready for him to ride in a booster, I would use the tether beyond the limit. I feel that the benefits of tethering outweigh any potential risk. As a tech, I would make the parent aware of the benefits of tethering as well as the fact that if the tether fails, it has already done its job and that I have never heard of one failing and I would let them decide what they want to do. I would then document their decision.

:yeahthat: I just switched my 5 1/2 year old to a booster (she is 40 lbs) but my next child will probably hit 40 lbs before 5, and I will not put her in a booster at that point. And I drive an Odyssey which apparently has always had a limit on the top tether.

ketchupqueen

CPST and ketchup snob
Staff member