Clek Foonf/Fllo vs. Diono Rainier

moomoo536

Hi All,

I am hoping to get opinions on which seat one THINKS might be safer (both RF and FF) in an outboard position in a 2013 Subaru Outback. I know that there is no standard for side impact testing yet, so I realize that this is entirely subjective and that this question is probably without enough context for those who really like to give an individualized response.

My car has side airbag curtains. Would it, theoretically, be safer to have a higher-sitting seat (like the Foonf) to take advantage of that? Would the fact that the Foonf/Fllo is more like a cocoon in shape confer any advantages during a crash? Would the materials that are used in each seat make a difference? The Rainier seems a little more padded to me and I definitely prefer that it seems a little less...plastic in construction. But I'm not a physics expert, so perhaps plastic would actually be safer in a side impact. Would the Fllo's RFing rebound bar make it a more stable seat during a crash than the Rainier with a tether?

I know what I'm asking for is conjecture but really just looking for people's hands-on impressions since that is all I can go really go on until some uniform standards are established. Ease of install is also not a factor for me. Would one seat be better FFing? The sales associate thought that the Foonf/Fllo would be more comfortable due to the recline.

I am looking to buy a seat by this fall and price isn't really an issue. My son will be about a few months shy of turning 3 by then. He is above average in height (currently between 35"-36" tall) and will likely hit the height/shell limits RFing before the weight limits (40%ile for weight). I would like to keep him RFing for as long as possible, which is why I've narrowed it down to these 3 seats.

Thanks so much for all your help!

ADS

Hazelandlucy