safety first air

V

vancouvermommy

hello, i am new to the car sat forum world! i have two older kids (a seven yr old in a graco booster, and 11 year old in a seat belt), and an 8 month old in a graco snugride who is 20 pounds.
I just bought a saftety first air seat, and havent tried it yet.

I feel silly asking this, but i am new to the whole "stay rear facing as long as possible" thing. When I had my daughter 7 and a half years ago, we forward faced her at 9 or ten months once out of her infant seat.
Isn't it VERY uncomfy for kids to be rear facing when they are older, as they can't stretch out their legs, and they hit the back seat. My baby's feet hit the back seat, and I just can't imagine not being able to stretch my legs out, and have an older toddler sitting like that for so long (??).
Also, I have been reading tons of very negative reviews on the air seat (on the babies r us website).....so I am thinking I may return it? I am also worried it will not fit into my car (mazda 3 ).....and I am not buying a new car to fit the seat. It was also NOT cheap at 229 plus tax.
Anyone here have one that fit into a mazda three rear facing , with enough room for front passengers?

Thanks!!! (ps I am from Vancouver, BC)

ADS

wendytthomas

Admin - CPST Instructor
Staff member
Welcome.

I'm assuming you mean the Complete Air, and not the onBoard 35 Air, right? One is a convertible, one is an infant seat. The "Air" is Safety 1st's side impact technology.

It's not at all uncomfortable or unsafe for their legs to hit the backseat. In fact, for your 7.5 year old (I have a nearly eight year old myself), they AAP was recommending even then to rear face as long as possible. So it's not new news. Kids kill put their feet up on the backseat, cross their legs, dangle their feet over the sides, whatever. Remember, kids are more flexible than us. And their legs dangling forward facing actually causes more discomfort (numb bum) than their legs being supported rear facing.