A few questions...

egc523

My daughter is in a 2003 britax roundabout right now. She is 13 months old. she's 23 lbs. She is very tall for her age. Not sure of her exact height, but she's about to outgrow her roundabout. I looked at her closely this morning, and her head is about 1 1/2 inches from the top. I'm thinking I've read before that you need to quit using the seat when they are 1 inch from the top?

I'm looking at buying a new Graco Safeseat Step 2. Does anyone know if it is bigger than the roundabout? I have yet to find both in 1 store here and I'm not that good at guessing. It looks like it would fit her better, and I love the reclining feature on her roundabout, that I don't want to lose, and this carseat has it.

Also where can I get safety ratings on the Graco Safeseat Step 2?

Sorry it's soo long. I'm kinda clueless as far as car seats go.

ADS

wendytthomas

Admin - CPST Instructor
Staff member
I wouldn't get the Safeseat 2 for your daughter. At 13 months and 23 pounds she's MUCH safer rearfacing, and the Safeseat 2 is only forward facing.

I'd get her a Britax Marathon, Decathalon, or Boulevard, or a Sunshine Kids Radian. They all harness rearfacing to 33 pounds (and have roughly a 17" top torso height) and harness forward facing to 65 pounds. The Safeseat 2 only harnesses to 40 pounds, which she may be before she's mature enough for a booster seat. As for which of these four seats, I couldn't recommend one over the other, it's personal choice, budget fit, fit in your car, and fit for your daughter. Specialty and boutique stores (USA Baby comes to mind) generally have the entire Britax line so you can see them, and the USA Baby by us has the Radian as well. The Radian is also generally about $10 more than I've seen for the Safeseat, so a much better economical deal for you as well.

HTH

Wendy

U

Unregistered

I would not get the safeseat. It's essentially the same type of seat as your roundabout.