Question '97 Honda CR-V

nikalea

Hi all-
So I'm new to this, mothering and forums. We have been using a Gracco Snugride 30 in the middle of the back of my '97 Honda Cr-v, but my 6 month old has been getting red around the neck from the straps and looking pretty uncomfortable, so I thought we would upgrade. The base was secure but it wasn't tethered. I thought we would just buy a Britax, since they go above safety limits, but after researching a little more now I feel like I've been a little lax about this business. Should I get a factory tethering part installed? What would be a good seat solution for my old vehicle? Can't afford a new car right now...

Thanks in advance!
Nikki

ADS

wendytthomas

Admin - CPST Instructor
Staff member
Hi Nikki,

You don't tether infant seats, so you've done no wrong there. Seats that tether rear facing come with adapters, so you don't need to do anything there. You tether forward facing seats, so that is ideally about 3.5 years off from now. Will you still have the car then? If so we'll get you the tether retrofit part number.

How heavy is your six month old, and what is his shirt size? The Britaxes are fairly short and may not last rear facing as long as you would like. There are other seats that last a lot longer for less money as well.

All carseats pass the same safety tests. What and if other companies do beyond that is their own business, not held to any standards, and may be marketing for all we know. Using any seat properly and rear facing as long as possible are the two best things you could do right now.

Wendy

joolsplus3

Admin - CPS Technician