Choosing a new 2012 Mini Van

AmyDyan

We will be purchasing a new mini van in 2012 to make room for baby #3. Our 2007 CRV is feeling cramped with two kids, so we're thinking we'll need more space. I assumed we'd get a 2012 Odyssey because it's so highly ranked safety wise, and I've heard it's a good pick for three under three (all RFing). However, my hubby suggested we buy an American made van to save money. He also thinks the parts will be cheaper down the road. So...does that mean Chrysler T & C? Or is there something better? What is the best/safest American made van? I need something that's going to work well with an infant, 1 and 2 year old -- all RFing. Or should we just pay a little more and go with the Odyssey? Or even a Sienna? We have several months to do our research, but I would appreciate any input you think is beneficial. Thanks!

ADS

rxmommy

I would get an Odyssey. :) But I adore mine. Had a Mercury (Ford) minivan and hated it. I have no experience with T&Cs, but he's right that the parts are probably cheaper. You'll have warranty for a long time on the Ody, though.

I would not get a 2012 Sienna. The 8-seater (which with 3 kids I wouldn't go with less than an 8-seater, but that's just me) is not 3-across friendly like the Odyssey. You could likely put all 3 kids RF in an Odyssey in the 2nd row, which may just be the ideal why to have 3 small children in a van.

livsmum

I'm not a fan of the 2012 Town & Country but it was just named a top safety pick by the IIHS.

You're not going to get 3 across. I'd go with the 2012 Odyssey or an older model Sienna (to get 3 across).

AmyDyan

livsmum said:
I'm not a fan of the 2012 Town & Country but it was just named a top safety pick by the IIHS.