RN rf boot

atthehip

Hello,
I am posting this on a separate thread as I was attempting to install my RN rfing just to have an idea if it will fit in our van before buying a new seat (96 villager/quest).

I cannot for the life of me get the recline boot to slide down into place so that I can secure it, and the problem seems to be the bar on the recline mechanism. I use the bar to get rid of the recline from it ff, make sure it is clicked down into place, but the hook for the rf boot won't fit over it. Is this a common problem? My RN is a 2008 and I have never used the boot before since we have only used it ff. I might be able to have dh force it into place but I was worried we might not be able to get it back off, or even worse, break it. So I thought I would come here and ask since nothing obvious came up on a search.

Also is there a definitive answer as to what type of bracing is allowed with the RN rfing? Can it actually be against the seat or just touching? Thanks.

The last question I have is just whether or not the RN lasts longer in height than the MA for rfing? The thread with the measurements is no longer available that I could find.

ADS

snowbird25ca

Moderator - CPST Instructor
Definitely lasts longer than the marathon. Shell and harness height are both higher on the radian.

As for the base question, I had a bit of a hard time following your description, but make sure that the recline adjustment is set do that the bottom of the seat is completely flat. Then the base should slide in easily. Force shouldn't be needed.

Sent from my iPhone using Car-Seat.Org

atthehip

Yes it is completely flat and the bar is all the way back where it should be. There's no way it would slide in easily. What should I do?

tiggercat