Questions about First Years True Fit Premier

amy922

Hello everyone! I am a newbie and I have been lurking on this board for ages. Reading all of your reviews is what lead me to purchasing a First Years True Fit for my son, however now I have some questions!!
Background, he is 5 months old, weighs a whopping 17lbs and almost 27". To me, the manual is very simplistic, leaves out a lot of details, and is very hard for someone anal like me to completely grasp.

For starters, should he still only be at the first shoulder strap slot? Without the infant insert, the straps are just below the shoulders, with the insert, the straps are way below. When I move it up to the second area, the straps are above his shoulders without the insert, but right below the shoulders with the insert. I'm planning to use the insert, so what do you think? To me he seems scrunched up, if that makes sense, when the straps are at the first slot and he is wearing the insert. It's like I have the desire to lift his body up and push him farther back into the seat, but with the low straps, I can't move him. I have already taken the shoulder pads off because they just made everything even more confusing.

Two, how do you adjust the crotch buckle and when would you need to? The manual does not describe this at all, and while I push on the yellow area that says "PUSH", nothing seems to be happening. The crotch buckle doesn't seem very long right now, it sits right below where his private area is.

Any help would be appreciated!!

ADS

wendytthomas

Admin - CPST Instructor
Staff member
If you're using the insert, put him on the second slot. At or below his shoulders, but as close to his shoulders as you can, if you have the choice.