Hospital Gives Free Serenade at Birth, would you keep it?

Jenny487

Hello!

Our hospital gives a "Free" Evenflo Serenade at delivery. Would you keep this seat or buy a different one? I've never been a fan of Evenflo, but thought this was the best place to ask if it's worth keeping it. If not I'd probably buy a Keyfit.

Thanks!

ADS

hrice

If you can afford your own seat I would refuse it so it can go to a family who would otherwise not be able to afford a seat.

I have no experience with the Serenade so I cannot comment in it.

Jenny487

Everyone is offered the seat. It isn't based on income, just their birthing "package" of perks for delivering there, I guess. I'm not sure if they donate a seat to a women's center if you refuse it, but I suppose I could do that.

nannykates

First, I forgot that serenade was a seat name. So of course if you hospital offers to serenade you while delivering, allow it!
Second, Evenflo requires the handle down with 1.5" clearance past that. This probably won't be the seat for you. I would probably take it and donate it to a women's shelter, cps program, or someplace else where a baby in need would receive it.

Jenny487

First, I forgot that serenade was a seat name. So of course if you hospital offers to serenade you while delivering, allow it!
Second, Evenflo requires the handle down with 1.5" clearance past that. This probably won't be the seat for you. I would probably take it and donate it to a women's shelter, cps program, or someplace else where a baby in need would receive it.

Haha! I thought about that once I typed the title, but figured someone would remember it's a seat! :dance:

LISmama810

Admin - CPS Technician
One of my formerly local hospitals would play Brahms lullaby over the speakers in the entire hospital every time a baby was born. I thought that's what this is about :p

As for the seat, I really don't know much about it. It wouldn't be my first choice, but hey.

robbertbobbert