Help me choose a car seat

psygrad

Hi. My son just turned a year and weighs about 22 pounds. I have been using the peg perego infant/car seat and the graco snugride (in 2 cars). I want a great and very safe car seat that will last a few years. I am very new to this and am lost by all the options. Can someone recommend a car seat to buy? I want my son to be safe and comfortable.
thanks for all your help! Should I buy a seat that goes up to 65 pounds or one that turns into a booster seat/80 pounds? Here are some names I am considering: Graco my ride, Graco nautilus, Radian, sunshine kids, britax marathon, safetyfirst alpha elite. As you can see - I can use some clarity!
Thank you for all your help!

ADS

bree

Car-Seat.Org Ambassador
For a 1 year old, you want a convertible that will allow you to rear-face your son for a few more years. Fortunately, many of the seats on the market can rear-face kids until they are at least 3 or 4 years old. If you want to read up on why rear-facing is so vitally important, this page had fantastic explanations and links.

On your list of seats, the Graco Nautilus is a forward-facing only seat (that turns into a booster later), so it wouldn't be recommended for a 1 year old. I also wouldn't go for any of the Safety 1st Alpha Elite or various 3-in-1 models, because while newer models are decent rear-facing and forward-facing seats, the booster mode is atrocious, and I believe there are better choices for convertibles.

The Graco My Ride rear-faces to 40 pounds and the Sunshine Kids Radian models rear-face to 40 or 45 pounds. The Safety 1st Complete Air also rear-faces to 40 pounds. These 3 choices have the highest rear-facing weight limits and would be good choices for most kids to rear-face until at least 3 or 4, then forward-face after that until they are old enough for a booster.