grandparents vs carseat, it never ends

fastdogs

I haven't had a run in with my dad in a while over the car seat, so I guess it was due. I got a new FPSVD for them since Andy had outgrown his touriva. I showed him how easy it was to install in their pickup, and he left it in there for a while.
This past weekend he must have decided that Andy needed to go in a ride in the tracker with the top down, so he put it in there. The tracker has those kind of seatbelts that don't lock except in an accident, so would have needed the locking clip, if he knew what that was. He doesn't, so...
He removed the top tether, and used it to somehow tie the carseat down on the right side, maybe to the seat leg or something. He took a lightweight cargo strap and tethered the top of the carseat to a loop in the back, I think it's a cargo hook. He said he had it tied down good, and was pretty proud of it.
I found the locking clip and was able to get it on the seatbelt (I've never used one before) so that the seat was secured with the seatbelt, but I wasn't able to figure out how to undo what he'd done to the cargo strap tether and the strap he'd tied it down with on the side. He had stormed away by that time, it was really hot and if I had had a pair of scissors or a knife I would have just cut it loose. He spent who knows how much time tying it down improperly instead of reading the instructions and installing it properly. I am disgusted.
vickie

ADS

VLsMom

lol - when I read this the first time, I thought you meant he installed the car seat in a TRACTOR...not a Geo Tracker. I was so confused until I read it again.

Grandparents will never get it. My MIL even can stand all the "5-point" seats ... they're annoying to her.

Victorious4

Senior Community Member
It's so hard -- they try ... but carseats weren't typical in their day :eek: