Graco Customer service gripe

Dsunny1

CPST Instructor
I am not sure if I am overreacting, so I thought I'd post my situation and see what others think. I have a snugride dated 6-14-2002. It was used for my son when he was a baby. I took it out the other day because my sister had a baby and she was going to use it. I looked it over to make sure everything was in order. When I pulled off the cover I noticed the whole shell was stress-marked. It is a blue snugride shell, so I can definately tell when the seat has stress lines and areas, cause those areas look light blue/white. The graco rep told me to call graco, stating they have great customer service and a seat that is not expired should not look like that (or be used). So, I called today, explained that I was a technician and told the customer service lady what it looked like.
She tells me the car seat is not under warrenty and all they could do was send me a $10 cupon for my next graco seat. They didn't want to see pictures of the stress marks and couldn't tell me the seat was safe to use. She kept mentioning that the color might not have mixed with the plastic and so the blue coloring was off. I know what stress marks look like, and they are definately there. I am talking the whole shell of the seat has lines and large stressed areas. She said they couldn't do anything but send a cupon. There is no way I would recommend the seat be used, so I will trash it. I know at a check, I would have replaced the seat if it came to me that way. I am disappointed that they don't seem concerned at all, and maybe there are other people with this same batch of snugrides who have never removed their covers and discovered this same thing, and are now using potentially unsafe seats...
Makes me mad :(

OK, done complaining, am I over-reacting? Jen

ADS

LEAW

I'd call back and get a different rep and see what their story is. And then ask to speak to the supervisor if it's the same $10 coupon.