Question forward facing child car seat for tetherless Audi A5 Cabriolet?

esrever

We just bought a 2013 Audi A5 Cabriolet (convertible). Our Britax Marathon and Blvd don't sit as solidly in the back seat as I'd like, a combination of there being no tether anchor and the car seat being a bit tall for the seat and not fitting well.

Any suggestions for other forward-facing car seats to consider? I'm also open to 5-pt harness boosters -- I'm using this on a 46-pound 48-inch boy. (I know I can go with some seat belt boosters, I just prefer the added safety of the 5-pt harness.) Any and all suggestions very welcome.

ADS

nannykates

I have zero experience with your vehicle but here are some combination (harness to booster) seats that may work. Hopefully them not being on as much of a base will make them more stable. Evenflo securekid, graco nautilus, britax frontier. The evenflo sureride doesn't turn into a booster but has high top slots.

esrever

I have zero experience with your vehicle but here are some combination (harness to booster) seats that may work. Hopefully them not being on as much of a base will make them more stable. Evenflo securekid, graco nautilus, britax frontier. The evenflo sureride doesn't turn into a booster but has high top slots.
There's also an issue of hitting the headrest -- the Boulevard's adjustable headrest is set forward from the back a bit making it hit the headrest a bit lower than is the case on the Marathon (although both hit the headrest and contribute to my unhappiness with the fit). Do you know if any of the ones you mention hit the headrest lower than others?

In thinking some more, I think what I'm asking for are models of car seats (convertible or combination) that (1) fit well in cars with small back seats (particularly if the headrest is low), (2) stay solid without a tether, and (3) will let me keep my kid in a 5-point harness as long as possible.

wendytthomas

Admin - CPST Instructor
Staff member