Middle of back seat & arm rests?

dogmelissa

On another forum - I've tried to tell them to come here, but they're stubborn - 2 people have now said that they were told by techs to NOT place a RF seat in the middle of the back seat due to arm rests. One vehicle is a Jetta, I have no idea what the other one is.
One of them was also told that it should not go in the middle because the middle seat didn't have the LUAS.

I'm no expert, so the arm rest thing is confusing the crap out of me. The LUAS vs seatbelt thing I know is wrong, as when installed properly, neither is MORE safe than the other (and I've heard of some people who couldn't get a good fit with the LUAS anyways).

Can anyone shed any light on the arm rest situation?

ETA: Both of the posters are from Ontario, Canada (I'm in Alberta).

TIA,
Melissa

ADS

QuassEE

Moderator - CPST Instructor
A few vehicle manufacturers also have had restrictions in centre seating positions with armrests, but VW isn't one of them.

hipmaman

I think the current curriculum still has no rf seat in front of a fold-down armrest. Unless the instructor is more updated and would update his/her teaching material, the standard 'official line' sticks. So that might explains about the techs saying no rf w/ fold-down armrest.

canadiangie

I took some tech training about 6wks ago and that curriculum stated it is now OK to put a CR in a seating position with an armrest as long as the CR manufacturer and automaker don't have a specific warning about doing so.

We were taught that no CR manufacturers still carry the warning, and that only a very few automakers still do. As usual, read, read, read those manuals people. :)

Last edited:

dogmelissa

A few vehicle manufacturers also have had restrictions in centre seating positions with armrests, but VW isn't one of them.

I posted all the comments individually (in case the people there didn't want to come here to read them) and this one was quoted with the response: