people not using HUGS when FF!

seamonkeys

Ok, today I saw 2 kids in MA's FF without the HUGS! One is classmate of DS1 and other is a classmate's younger sib (not to mention the 2nd has an after-market cover on that the mom's SIL makes and sells, and really s/b RF still!!!). I want to tell them, but how to do it politely?!?! I've already told one parent about her misuse, and feel like telling more will make me sound like the carseat police!

I really wish I was a tech, then I could offer a class for the school. Plus I would feel I had an obligation to tell them the correct way and not feel like I'm being a know-it-all!

p.s. Now that I'm a fanatic about carseat safety, it's driving me nuts cause I'm always peeking at people's seats - and then I can't stop thinking about them if they are using them wrong!!!!!

ADS

amy919

I won't take them off RF because I'm afraid to lose them or forget to put them back on. I can see people not bothering with them if they don't understand that they're required.

ktmo

I don't know how to help. I have a friend who doesn't use the HUGS on her MA. I told her she needed to, but nothing ever happened. I don't know what I would do if I didn't really know them.

Katie

Defrost

Moderator - CPSTI Emeritus
"Oh, you took those rubber HUGS thingies off! I did that too; I just couldn't imagine what the point was. Then my neighbor saw it, and she said they are REQUIRED to use when FF - can you believe that?? So I looked it up/called Britax and she is RIGHT! Apparently they help keep the child's head from moving too far forward when you get in a crash! Do you still have yours? I think if you call Britax you can get new ones."

NVMBR02