Locking Clips???

Wynters*Mom

I have a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica and I think it has non-locking ELR seat belts. When I pull out on the straps all the way, they just retract right back in and I can pull them out, so they're not ALR. I'm searching for a second car seat and I was leaning toward the Regent or maybe either the new Compass TrueFit or the Nautilus. I just read that neither the Regent or the Nautilus have lock-offs, so will I be using a locking clip, then? I'm not sure if the True Fit has lock-offs or not???

I guess what I'm wondering is are locking clips safe/easy to use? I've never used them before - I've always either done LATCH or a seat belt with the lock offs.

Sorry, i'm sure this is a dumb question. :p'

Thanks a bunch!

ADS

sfeitler

I believe a 2006 is required to have some method of locking the seat belt. Read your Pacifica owner's manual--perhaps you have a locking latchplate of some sort. The manual will tell you.

-Sarah

CDNTech

Senior Community Member
You have lightweight locking latchplates in your vehicle.

Sit in the backseat and buckle the seatbelt. Pull all the slack out of the lap portion. Now pull straight out/up from the center of your tummy on the lap portion. It should not loosen.

These seatbelts work by keeping the lap/buckle/shoulder portions of the seatbelt all parallel to each other. The lap portion will be tight and the shoulder portion will still move freely. In a collision the ELR will kick in and lock the shoulder portion as well, until that time the lap portion will be tight and keep the carseat in position.

azgirl71

CPST Instructor

Sit in the backseat and buckle the seatbelt. Pull all the slack out of the lap portion. Now pull straight out/up from the center of your tummy on the lap portion. It should not loosen.