Can I use LATCH in 2007 Honda Accord in the center position?

Ari11210

The Accord (2007) manual is not clear on whether you can use LATCH in the center position, it does not explicitly say not to. Does anyone know if it is OK? There are a total of 4 LATCH connectors for the 3 positions, so the question is whether I can borrow the inner 2 connectors for the center seat. I'd rather use LATCH than the seat belt if possible. Does anyone know? Thanks in advance. If it makes a difference, I have a Britax Diplomat, and this is for rear facing.

-Ari

ADS

Jeanum

Admin - CPS Technician Emeritus
Staff member
Hi and welcome. Britax allows borrowing lower LATCH anchors from the side seating positions for a center installation of their child restraints if the vehicle manufacturer also allows it. But in this case, Honda does not currently allow borrowing of the lower LATCH anchors from the outboard seating positions to do a center installation.

You can install in the center rear with the vehicle seatbelt, or outboard using the lower LATCH anchors or the vehicle seatbelt. Whichever proper installation method allows you to get a tight installation with less than 1 inch of movement at the Diplomat's belt path is key. :)

Also good to keep in mind is that Honda has a 40 lb. child weight limit for using the lower LATCH anchors, at which point you would need to switch to a seatbelt installation.

Ari11210

Thanks for the info. Can you tell me where that information comes from? From the Honda manual, it is not clear that you cannot 'borrow'. thanks again. Ari

Ari11210

Well, I called Honda today to ask them about using LATCH in the center. When I called in the morning, I was told that it shouldnt be a problem to use LATCH in the center, but 'we recommend using the outer seats' with LATCH. So, I called back later today and spoke to someone else who told me it is OK to use LATCH in the center since the manual doesn't say otherwise. Now what?

Thanks

CDNTech

Senior Community Member