Gearhead + CPST = Tough Choices. Opinions?

AK Dad

OK, so while I've got a couple of minutes I need to submit something for comment by the masses:

I'm stuck in between my gearhead wants and desires and my safety advocate tendencies! I've been suppressing my gearhead side for the last 10 years for the sake of practicality, but I think I may have come up with a solution that will satisfy both sides.

Right now my daily driver is a 2011 Honda Pilot, which of course is a fine vehicle, reliable, safe, flexible ... and mind-numbingly boring and un-engaging to drive. I've thought of adding a Flex Ecoboost to our lineup, but I don't think it's different enough from the Pilot to justify having it. Also, the Flex is quick in a straight line, but the driving dynamics aren't much better than your run of the mill CUV/minivan.

So, what I need is AWD (and yes, living 2100' up a mountain in Alaska means "need" is the correct word) and I'd like to have a manual transmission and lots o' power ... which pretty much narrows my choices down to an Acura TL or an Audi S4. I really tried to like the Acura, but it's just so catastrophically ugly I just couldn't stand it. I also looked at the previous body style S4 or RS4, but the backseat is just way too tight to even consider it with my 3 kids.

The 2009-up S4 (fast version of the A4) though looks like it might be a winner, and that's what I want the opinions on. I didn't think it was going to be big enough, but I was pleasantly surprised the other day when I went and did some test-fitting of seats in a used one. The most amazing thing was that I could have the driver's seat in any position I wanted and the Foonf still fit in the center rear, RFing with no problem! It also was narrow enough at the base to avoid interfering with the outer two seatbelt positions.

Oh yeah, kids are as follows:
Nearly 6yo, 48" tall, 52lbs (around 90th percentile for height), Frontier 85