No top tether - install with lap shoulder belt outboard or lap belt center?

EmmaCPST

CPST Instructor
In a situation where there is no top tether available for a FF seat, would you prefer to install with a lap/shoulder belt outboard versus a lap belt in the center?

ADS

Brianna

Not being a tech, I would think that center lap untethered would be better, as if there is additional head excursion without the shoulder belt, the child's head would go in between the 2 front seats. That's assuming the vehicle doesn't have a bench front seat.

zactayaus

I'm going to go against everyone and say lap/shoulder because the shoulder belt part will go up high on the back of the car seat and act kind of like a tether rather than just the lap belt where the seat has a low pivot point for the seat to rotate forward on. Does that make sense? I also think I remember reading on here that there is a seat that says something along the lines of 'if installing with a lap belt only you must use the top tether or move the seat to another location where a lap/shoulder belt is available'. I don't remember what seat though and hope I didn't just totally make that up. lol.

Last edited:

EmmaCPST

CPST Instructor
Thanks guys! This is purely a hypothetical at this point, just something that wandered into my brain this morning when I had to drive DH's truck to work and drop Sam off on the way. The seat has virtually zero leg room because of a large center console, so if I were to put his seat there he would have his feet up on top of the console or squashed directly in between the car seat and the console.

I've chosen to put him outboard and move the passenger seat all the way forward when there's no one else in the car. He only rides in it maybe once a month so I'm not terribly stressed about it but it just had me thinking about all the factors to consider when I'm advising a parent in a similar situation.

Pixels