Flying alone with 2 in carseats

U

Unregistered

Hello,

This Novemeber I will be flying with my 3 1/2 yr old and 5 yr old. It will just be me and the kids , so no extra hands. The 5 yr old has a Radian which I've heard can be folded up and carried on my back. I've never tried it. The 3 year old has a big clunky Recaro. Both are pretty heavy seats. I haven't flown with them before so I'm new at the whole parent on a plane thing. We do have a Marathon which we could use in place of the Recaro, if it would be a better option.

How in the world do I accomplish this? Can you walk me through all the steps?

My 5 year old has Aspergers and I really need to have at least one hand free to hold on to her .

ADS

wendytthomas

Admin - CPST Instructor
Staff member
What I would do would be to get a luggage cart and bungee cords, and put the Radian on the car (open), and then the Marathon/Recaro on top of it, then bungee them together. That way you can pull the carseats, have your 3.5 year old hold onto the handle with you, and the 5 year old hold your hand. It might help to turn the top carseat upside down on the cart. Fiddle with them to see what the best configuration is. Check your luggage, and have each of you carry a backpack.

HTH

Wendy

Jan06twinmom

Can you also have someone go to the gate with you? My understanding is that you can request permission for a non-ticketed person to go through security. I think that would be helpful for you to get through security, especially with your 5yo.

Also see if you can arrange for someone to meet you at the airport when you arrive at your destination.

Melanie

gigi