Convertible in a Mazda 3

atomic_poppy

Hi, newbie here. I have done searches and not found anything recent regarding this. My DS is 5 months old next week and is already maxing out his Snugride. I desperately need to buy him a convertible that RFs for as long as possible and FFs to a high limit as well. I was hoping to buy the MyRide 65 (the price fits our budget), but I'm not sure it will fit in my car.

Does anyone have any input on the MyRide or any other convertible for a Mazda 3? I would love to get a Britax, but it's not financially possible for us right now.

ADS

wendytthomas

Admin - CPST Instructor
Staff member
I don't think you're getting anything in a Britax that you can't find elsewhere, to be honest. I find that it's mostly just a name. For instance, the My Ride makes my top five recommended convertibles. No Britax does. The Britaxes are very easy to install and use, they're very comfortable. They have a lot of perks. However, they're shorter than everything I recommend, have lower top slots than 4/5 seats that I recommend, and are more expensive than all but one model of one type of seat I recommend.

Most convertibles fit very well where the infant seat went. They don't need to be as reclined as the infant seat was, so their front to back space is often equal to or less than the infant seat.

I'd look at the My Ride, the Learning Curve True Fits (unless he's maxing out the Snugride by weight), the Safety 1st Complete Air, the Sunshine Kids Radians, and the Evenflo Triumph 65.

Wendy

KDsmommy

I drive a Mazda 3, 5 door and have had no trouble fitting convertible seats RFing in that car. I have had in there RFing, a Boulevard, True Fit, and Uptown. All were easy to install in my car and fit just fine.

sunnymw

I didn't even have trouble fitting a RF radian back there ;)

mazda012.jpg

mazda011.jpg

Stephdeputy

I didn't even have trouble fitting a RF radian back there ;)