RSTV - Is this right? (includes installation pics)

Athena

We are planning on using an RSTV (size small) for our approx. 35 pound 4yo DD1 on our upcoming trip. I tried installing it today. I'm not sure if I did it right. It looks like it is gaping too much, but I remember seeing other threads with some gaping that was considered to be okay so I'm not sure how much is too much. It is so different from using a regular 5 point harness seat. I tightened the vest's seatbelt all the way, as far as I could, to the point that it barely overlaps the velcro that holds the end onto the vest.

I really want this to work and I really don't want to have to buy a travel seat and haul another car seat with us, but it just doesn't look right to me. But then again, I am no expert. Help, please! Thank you!

P.S. It would only let me upload 3 pics so I tried to pick the 3 most useful, but let me know if another perspective might help more. Again, thank you!

Last edited:
ADS

Maedze

It looks great to me :thumbsup: In fact, I think you got an even better fit with the belt than when we tried her in mine. Remember that it's not a booster, and the forces are distributed over the whole vest. And I see you went with the pink :p

Athena

It looks great to me :thumbsup: In fact, I think you got an even better fit with the belt than when we tried her in mine. Remember that it's not a booster, and the forces are distributed over the whole vest. And I see you went with the pink :p

Good, you got my PM. Thank you so much for looking at the pics!

Is it okay that the end of the vest's belt (the loose part that comes out of the buckle and gets longer when the vest is adjusted tighter) barely overlaps the velcro that holds it's end down? Does it need to be held down? It seems like if I lift at all on the part of the belt that you lift to loosen it, it loosens really easily, so does that velcro help hold it and keep it from loosening? Does that make sense?