Question Newbie and Q about BV height limit

3kitty

Hi all,

I look forward to learning lots in these forums. I've been learning more and more about car seats since DD was born 18 months ago, but feel like there's a whole lot I still don't know. I've been poking around looking for info and did read the transcript of the Britax chat. Still need some explanation, though.

I have a BV for DD (upgraded from a Graco bucket - hey, I'm still learning! :D). She's probably right about 32" now (more torso than legs). What is the deal with the Canadian 32"/US 49" height limit? :confused: I definitely want to keep her rf as long as I can.

TIA,

Jenn

ADS

babyherder

The height limit for any rear facing seat is at least one inch of hard shell above the child's head. If the child has less than an inch of hard shell above his/her head its time for a new seat. Techs generally agree its ok to disregard the stated height limit.

You might want to think about getting her another seat to rear face in longer depending on how she fits in the BV. Techs will be more helpful with specific suggestions then I can be.

mommycat

As a tech, I have to tell you that you must adhere to your manual.

However, I will also tell you that you may make a parental decision to disregard it if you feel comfortable with making that decision. Common sense suggests that since all kids are proportioned differently, that height limit cannot be an accurate measure of fit in the seat. A number of seats now available use the "1 inch rule" as a height limit. Like baby-herder said, it is very important that your child has at least 1" of hard shell above the top of their head (measured perpendicular to the seat back, not level to ground). I am personally comfortable making that decision for my own children, knowing how much safer they are RF.