Which infant seat would you get?

Baby D

#2 is due in June. I would like an infant bucket. Price doesn't really matter. Going to be used in a 2009 Taurus X (the crossover) and a 2000 F250 Crew cab so space isn't really an issue either. DH is in the Britax bubble and is dreaming of matching Cow seats for DS and the new baby. I do like the anti-rebound bar because of his pick up truck window in the back but am not totally sold on the Chaperone. Suggestions?

ADS

wendytthomas

Admin - CPST Instructor
Staff member
The Snugride 35 is the old Safeseat 1 with five pounds more on it. So it'll last significantly longer than a regular Snugride 22.

It's got a bigger shell than the Keyfit as well, though the Keyfit 30 lasts a decent amount of time.

I haven't played with it yet, but the Safety 1st Onboard 35 has a hugely tall shell and a 35 pound rear facing limit. It has a lockoff on the base for installs. I hear it's easy to install and use, though I have zero experience with it other than touching the BRU display. Whereas I have a ton of experience with the SS1/SR32/SR35 and Keyfit and they're fan-freaking-tastic. Super easy to install and use in just about car, great lockoffs, you can leave the handles up, and they even come in cute colors. That may all be the same case on the Onboard, I just don't know.

Wendy

wendytthomas

Admin - CPST Instructor
Staff member
The others would last longer and take up less room, cost less, be easier to get in and out, easier to install.

BRU has all four of these seats. You can go and test them out in your car. If you love the Chaperone, and can get it in cowmoo, then go for it. But I don't know that I've seen it on anyone's top lists. It's not bad, just that there are easier and longer lasting seats that costs less money.

Wendy

wendytthomas

Admin - CPST Instructor
Staff member
How small of a baby would you put in a Snugride 35?