Lap belts on daycare bus :(

firemomof3

So, my ds is attending a 1/2 day daycare "camp" this summer. I went for the tour today and when I looked into the bus that they use for field trips I noticed lap belts :mad: So, I asked if they had any vests or harnesses and they said yes. When I asked what kind she said it sits on the seat and opens up and then there are straps that secure under the seat and on the back, and then the child is fitted into the 5 point harness. I have NO experience with any of these, does anyone know what she talking about? I am going on every field trip and can always install his GN with the lap belt but she didn't sound too sure of that :rolleyes: I'm very surprised that they would put lap belts at all because the bus's seats are tall and designed exactly like a regular bus.
What do you guys think?

ADS

AustinMusic

the bus's seats are tall and designed exactly like a regular bus.

When you say “designed exactly like a regular bus”, I assume you are referring to a school bus, rather than an inner city bus. If so, I believe they are referring to built-in child seats manufactured by companies such as Safeguard and C.E. White. There is good information on these types of seats at the following websites:

C.E.White CR11 Integrated Child Seat

Syntec M2K Integrated Child Seat

Safeguard Integrated Child Seat

As I understand it these seats have to meet FMVSS213 (or the similar standard – forgive me if that’s not correct; I may have forgotten the exact number) and when used correctly are very safe. Additionally - and I’m sure the experienced folk can fill you in on the statistics - school bus travel is much safer than car travel.

I hope this helps.

mylittlet

Senior Community Member
Or it could be like these where they add them to the seat.
[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zK_at41k93s"]Securing a child in a SafeGuard STAR restraint - YouTube[/ame]

firemomof3