big wreck... need new seats.

Cryssy Jane

Posting on my client's behalf. Yes, i am a tech but am curious to see what other options other in the know people would suggest.

This weekend one of my clients was in a roll over accident with both kiddos. Kiddos stats: Issy, 23 months, 23/24lbs wearing 12-18 month tops, was rf in a combi coccoro. Toro, 3 years 7 months, 45lbs, wearing 5t top, was FF in a radian rxt.

Everyone is ok (thank goodness) just bumps and bruises here and there. I'm not sure what insurance she has but reminded her that she needs to get insurance to pay for new car seats and to not use the ones that were in the accident.

She is currently borrowing a blvd 70 for issy (has around 4-5 inches of torso growth before outgrowing) and a rxt for toro however I can't loan those out for long as we'll need them here.

Assuming she'd get around the same pricing as market for new seats (approx $260 each) what would you suggest she look at? The fr90 does not work well for T as he noodles when he sleeps, although she has very slanted seats in her vehicle that may help with that. I is pretty tiny for her age and it is preferred to keep her rf, I do feel that a radian would be overkill for her. She drives a small sedan, however back seat front to back space is not an issue (we had the rxt in there rf for T with AA without issue).

Thoughts? Suggestions? I have a list building but would happily add to it or confirm my thoughts as well.

ADS

Brigala

CPST Instructor
Honestly, regardless of the size of the child, as a small sedan owner I find the Radian to be my best bet (other than a Coccoro which is just as good of a fit). If the Radian works well for the vehicle I wouldn't pass it up just because the child is petite. But if she's not into super-extended rear facing then just replacing the Coccoro might not be a bad idea either.

Is the FR85 more reclined than the FR90? I wonder whether that would be a better choice for the 3 year old.

MommyShannon