Ambulance car seat misuse (long)

Dsunny1

CPST Instructor
I am so irritated. You would Think that an ambulance company would know how to safely transport clients and children....I am a case manager for children in psychiatric hospitals and residentials. I had to go with one of my "kids" (14 yo) to the other side of the state for an interview with a residential placement. My boss would not allow me to drive myself with a coworker, but decided we would pay for an ambulance transport instead, as he was worried about liability if anything had happened. We got an ambulance van to transport us. In the van there was one half of a bench type seat, no headrests and the rest of the van had the seats removed... I suppose to transport those in wheelchairs. The bench was directly behind the driver. There was literally 5 inches of leg space as the driver's seat was so far back. There was one shoulder/lap belt by the window. The shoulder belt was being used to keep a wheelchair that was behind the bench from moving around in the van. It was wrapped around this folded up wheelchair, so it couldn't be used. That left one lap belt for my client to ride in. She was unable to sit strait forward due to no leg room, so she sat kind of sideways. I just imagined a crash and her flying into the drivers seat face first....
So, there was a convertible car seat in the back also. It was a 1997 Overhead Shield Touriva!!!! No stickers on it anywhere.. The only way I knew the year was because on the harness it has a tag that said 1997. The harness was twisted and routed through the un-reinforced middle slots (I am sure they use it forward facing that way). I could not believe it.
I was asking the driver how they transport little kids... He said "well a lot of them are scared and so we just tell the parents to hold them on their laps!!!" :mad: