Britax Marathon Rear Facing Question

BABYGIRLLYNDSEY

Hi,

I am new to this foum and have a question. Does anyone know how safe it is to put our Britax Marathon rear facing on the middle rear seat on next to the door (on passenger side). We have a Suzuki XL7. I put it in the middle on the seat rear facing but the seat is a split seat and it is hard to slide the unused seat forward to get into the rear seat in the third row. I don't know the crash test ratings. We also have a Wizard which I would use in this position and feel better because of the side impac protection but my daughter hates it and cries non stop. The wings are too tight, her neck is so short so her head is at the bottom narrowest part of the wings. She is 7 months old. We just graduated from the Britax Companion. We purchased the Marathon and stuck the Wizard on the shelf in the garage. I see there is a new Boulevard with wider wings but we cannot afford to purchase yet another seat. I wish the Boulevard had been available when we purthased the others. Help. Thanks. :(

ADS

Dillipop

Any rearfacing seat provides good side impact protection compared with ffing seats. In cases of 2 children, you would always put the rfing child in the outboard seat and the ffing child in the center when possible. I have a marathon ffing for my 2.5 yr old ds and have never worried about side impact protection. The 5 point harnes adds to the protection, as well as the eps foam in the marathon. When your child goes ffing at 33 lbs, I would then try the seat in the center or try the wizard, but until then, I would feel very safe with my child rfing in the outboard seat in the marathon.

Victorious4

Senior Community Member