New Tech, some random ?'s

ffpmcps

Hi all. I am a relatively new tech (May 07). Like many of you I was a "car seat junkie" for awhile before then. First let me say I am already addicted to this site :) I don't get a chance to do a ton of installs, so I love being able to keep up with things and learn from others. So I have a few random questions. I don't have pics of any of these right now, sorry.

1. How much tilt is too much. I know it is OK for a seat to lean slightly due to a center hump or the L/S belt, but is there a certain criteria in degrees or something that says it is too much?

2. With regard to the Apex 65 and the head rest rule. Does it actually have to be a movable head rest, or as long as the head rest of the CSS does not extend above the level of the seat back is it OK? Meaning, if the child is using the seat at a lower level and it does not extend above the height of a stationary seat back. As long as the parent understands that the seat can not be used at a higher level.

3. For RF with an older child, 30deg is still the most upright you want the seat right?

I am sure I will have many more questions, just can't think of them right now :)

Thanks
Andrea

ADS

joolsplus3

Admin - CPS Technician
Hi! I moved this to Coffee Break so we could all chime in.
I don't think there's a rule about tipping degrees... I know that THIS is not acceptable http://picasaweb.google.com/joolstag/TippyScenera but most is in the eye of the beholder (That seat wasn't tippy when I put it in, but after slamming on the brakes on the way home, the retractor *really* kicked in... I recommend using locking clips on RF seats with lap shoulderbelts often, because a good install can turn into a baby dumper when the parent least expects it!)

Nope, you don't need an adjustable headrest, just as long as there's some vehicle seat behind the kid's head, at least up to the tops of the ears.