Crash dynamics of a high speed rear impact

mrosehughes

Hi all,

A FB friend of mine posted a question (not to me; in a parenting forum, but I would like to answer her if I can) about the dynamics of high speed rear impacts and RFing car seats. Basically she said she's not questioning the safety of RFing, but knows that that safety is due, in a large part, to frontal impacts making up a larger percentage of crashes and would like to know more about RFing vs FFing for rear impacts since 1) people tailgate at high speeds in her area and 2) her DS's seat is in the third row and close to the rear windshield of her small minivan.

I was thinking of suggesting she try to get a seat that allows RF tethering or has a rebound bar given her specific case, but she's a physicist (and I'm a physical scientist) so it'd be great if I could point her to videos or studies that show more specifics.

ADS

Brianna

Post #211 here has a link to a blog written about a crash involving 3 RF'ers rear ended by a semi.

I don't think there's much actual data on it though, if there is any.

bree

Car-Seat.Org Ambassador
Hi all,

A FB friend of mine posted a question (not to me; in a parenting forum, but I would like to answer her if I can) about the dynamics of high speed rear impacts and RFing car seats. Basically she said she's not questioning the safety of RFing, but knows that that safety is due, in a large part, to frontal impacts making up a larger percentage of crashes and would like to know more about RFing vs FFing for rear impacts since 1) people tailgate at high speeds in her area and 2) her DS's seat is in the third row and close to the rear windshield of her small minivan.

I was thinking of suggesting she try to get a seat that allows RF tethering or has a rebound bar given her specific case, but she's a physicist (and I'm a physical scientist) so it'd be great if I could point her to videos or studies that show more specifics.