Is mini bus safety like big school bus? Compartmentalization or harness required?

Athena

My daughter's class is starting field trips, so I have to ask, for a 5 year old does the mini school bus perform like the big school bus (compartmentalization, no restraint required) or if not, what would be required for a 5 year old? Also, are harnesses necessary for van buses?

I tried searching, but couldn't quite find my answer and am in a bind now to find this out to be prepared in time. Thank you!

ADS

Athena

Anyone? The buses they are using are from a different school and "slightly smaller" than their regular full sizes buses they use. I don't know what that means and the teacher does not know what I'm talking about, but says they would not use them if they were not safe.

Edit - Nevermind. They look like normal sized buses to me so I'll assume they are okay? Too late to do anything different for today anyway. Thanks.

Last edited:

Ninetales

I'm not an expert on buses but I thought it was only the big buses that benefited from compartmentalization and such, and restraints were required on small ones.

Athena

I'm not an expert on buses but I thought it was only the big buses that benefited from compartmentalization and such, and restraints were required on small ones.

I was editing my post at the same time as you were posting. Thank you for your response. That was what I had thought and why I was so worried (more like panicking!), but I saw it this morning and it looks full sized to me. (not that I'm an expert, but I've seen obviously small ones that I assume are the ones called mini buses and they seem to be a lot smaller)

Pixels

Smaller buses have some compartmentalization (high, padded seat backs, etc) but lack some of the sheer mass of the bigger buses. I would have to get out my manual to check about the smaller buses, but it sounds like it's not an issue today after all.

Athena