3 across 2004 Honda CRV? Two rear-facing?

staryla

Hi all,

Currently in our 2004 CRV:
-3 year-old RF in a TFP (I'm ready to turn him FF, but its currently easier to just leave the seats set up as they are).
-2 month old in a Chicco Keyfit (the ones that only go up to 20 (22?) lbs).

My sister-in-law is flying in for a visit in 2 months and we need to fit her 8 month old in the car. They have the child in a Chicco Keyfit 30 at their house.

I have two Keyfit bases (one of which is marked for both versions of the carseat). so I was playing around trying to get 3 across. There is NO WAY with the TrueFit to have this happen (I figured this would be the case, but no harm in trying right?:))

We also have a Complete Air and it seems like I might be able to get 3 across with the CA FF in the middle and the two infant bases on the sides. I played around with this configuration, but I've never tried doing 3 across before and am not 100% sure how to check for independent tightness. It seemed doable with some extra effort, but due to the 60/40 split of the backseat; the infant base behind the passenger has very little room and I'm worried that someone might 'think' they had snapped it in properly but not actually have done so. But for a week long visit we could probably handle this.