Help me pick a vehicle?

P1ally

In a few months, we'll be selling two of our vehicles to buy one. We'll have around 14k to spend, but we'll consider financing also. Currently I'm a nanny, and I'd love to be for a long time, but I'm not sure if I will or not, and if I'll have the need to transport kids. I only have one kiddo of my own, and I work 2-3 days a week.

Ideally I want the convenience and space of a van, but with awesome MPG. Right now I'm getting 32mpg+ highway in my car, and 20mpg highway in my SUV. Blegh. I feel stuck on the numbers- I'm afraid 25mpg highway isn't good enough, but IDK.

I want SPACE. I've been driving a chevy malibu for 3 years, and I've bashed my head on the door frame more times than I can count. DISLIKE. I was also just given a BMW X5, which is nice and tall, but cramped for the kids, and gets horrible mpg.

I feel like I've looked at everything under the sun, and I keep coming back to an odyssey, newer nissan quest, highlander, saturn vue, or a mazda 5.

(Side note on the mazda 5, I love it for one kid, but not so much for 3.. I want cargo room.. *sigh*)

So what do I do? Buy a mini van even though I only have one kid, and deal with the crap mpg? Buy a 5 passenger SUV and deal with the suck factor? (I Reeeeeallly want sliding doors) Or what?

ADS

mkmama

I can't picture the Chevy Malibu in my mind right now so not sure what size it is...but what about a larger car, like the Impala? Great for 1 kid, can easily get 3-across w/ most seats, and the trunk...well, lets just say I can get more in that trunk than I can in any mini-van (with the possible exception of my new Sienna).

We travel 16+ hours regularly, and on long trips we take the car over the mini-van even though we have 3 kids...because I can pack all our luggage in the trunk and not have stuff sitting around the kids, whereas in the van stuff is crammed everywhere.

MPG isnt too bad on the Impala either...my 2004 averages 23 mpg city/28-32 mpg highway.

P1ally