Double strollers

otto

I'm thinking about getting a used double stroller for the infrequent days I watch my 1yr old and a friend's 2yr old. Would mostly be for local walks or the zoo or possibly the mall.

I have zero experience with doubles. Any recommendations on what type to get? Specifically side by side versus the one in front of the other types. And for the ones where the kids sit one in front of the other, how useful is it having one where the seats can be turned so they can face each other?

I'm not looking to spend a ton, but there are usually a few decent choices beyond the standard Gracos on our local CL.

ADS

strollerfreak

Senior Community Member
Out of those choices I'd go with the Maclaren...

The Aria won't do well at the zoo...and it gets pretty hard to push once you get older kids in it.

The Contours might be ok for at the zoo and outdoors situations...I wouldn't want to use it indoors though...it is super wide for a single, and that makes it harder to manuever indoors...everytime I've seen someone using it at the mall they are getting hung up on clothing racks or just sitting parked in the middle of the aisle because they can't fit where they want to go...period.

romanoma

I would go with either the BOB or the maclaren (very different strollers though!) for just a little more. You might be able to offer less than 150 on that maclaren, but it's a great price for the BOB.

HTH!

exegesis48

If you are looking to spend $150 on a used stroller, you might want to consider your options with the Babies R Us trade in event that is currently going on. You can get a Quattro Tour Duo for around $190, which is an amazing stroller. I personally prefer the in-line strollers to the side by sides.

Athena

Will you need to fit it in a car/trunk and how big is it? Since we don't have a minivan, that was a big factor for us. Many of them are huge.