Installed a seat for someone today

AdventureMom

Senior Community Member
It was at a car dealership... I was test-driving an Odyssey. When we were pulling out of the parking lot, I noticed two employees trying to install a MA in a Honda Pilot. When we returned, they were still at it. After going inside with the salesman, chatting, then returning to my car, I noticed they were STILL working on the MA. So I walked over, stated that I was CPS tech, and then after they looked blankly at me, I reworded it to say that I was a carseat tech and did they need any help. They both jumped back from the Pilot and said "Please! We don't know what we're doing!" So I walked over and this is what I found:

- both lower anchors and seatbelt were used
- tether was used but both straps routed around one side of headrest rather than one on each side (which would've fit in this situation)
- all three of the above (lower anchor straps, belts, and top tethers) were loose
- the lower anchor straps had not been switched to the opposite sides to install FF rather than RF (they were upside down and twisted)
- MA was tilted forward at an angle and resting on the front edge of the base b/c the headrest was pushing it forward

So I did the following:
- took the headrest off and explained that the child seat should fit snugly in the seat of the car, like a person (flat against both the bottom and the back of the seat)
- explained that you should always use only the lower anchors or the seatbelts, but always use the top tether if the seat has one (I commented that while it may *seem* safer to use both lower anchors and the belt, until it's tested and the manufacturers say it's okay, then it's not advised)
- explained that to use the LATCH on the MA, the straps had to be reversed to the other side for FF (I decided to leave that for the parents to worry about - told the mom to look in the manual)
- installed it in less than a minute using the seatbelt