I helped a family at my work yesterday!

TiaxMarie

I work in a portrait studio and have to watch kids come in unsafely strapped in their bucket seats and I can't say anything because I'm on the clock and it could potentially be a conflict of interest or something.

Anyway, a overheard a dad telling his wife that the seat we had for sale in front of the studio was a better deal then what they had bought. It was a combination seat that said UP TO 100 lbs and dad got excited aboutt he prospect. I asked what they had and they had a MyRide 65. I told them it was a much better seat then the one we were selling.

Anyway, mom overheard and asked how I knew so much about seats. I told her I was a tech and she asked if I'd look at her seat since she knew it was in wrong. I happen to be leaving at the same time they were so I agreed.

When I asked who installed it, they said their neighbor who has 6 kids and 10 neices and nephews so she was an expert.

Well, this expert has the seatbelt through the forward facing belt path, the baby was 7 months old and RF. I explained that needed to be fixed, then noticed the straps were above her shoulders, had mom fix those.

I didn't touch the seat for liablility issues, and talked dad through the installation process. He got it rock solid, way less than 1 inch of movement. He was so proud of himself since he hadn't been able to get it before, but could now. Baby left way safer then she arrived.

He tried to pay me, when I told him no thanks, he was just beaming and couldn't believe anyone would help them for free. I also mentioned they come by a check sometime just to make sure since I couldn't pull up recall info (wasn't too worried with it being a Myride) and so we'd have their info on file.

Overall it went pretty well, and only took about 20 minutes. Oh, and their Ped has a 3 and 5 year old RF still, so they plan to keep their daughter RF til at least 40 lbs and she's a peanut, so it'll be awhile.

ADS

Mommy0608