Thoughts on Sienna and Odyssey

allisonrose

Hubby and I are thinking about upgrading to a full size minivan. I've been driving a Mazda5 for two years now and while I love the gas mileage, it feels a bit cramped. We have two children now but are debating about having a third. My older son will be FFing in a Frontier 85 (just purchased due to accident, not yet installed) and my younger son is RFing in a Diono XRT. Hubby sent me some listing for 2011 and 2012 Sienna and Odyssey. He is leaning towards Sienna because it is a better value, however, I found a review of the 2011 saying there is just three rear tether positions. I could not find information about the number of rear tether locations in the 2012 Sienna.

Does anyone know how many rear tether locations there are in a 2012 Sienna?

Also is it a big pain to be limited on rear tether with three children (in theory)? My ds1 will be 5 in September but like many moms here, I don't plan to rush into boostering. My ds2 is 2.5 now and I plan to have him RF until 4. The soonest the third child could be a factor would be 9 months from now so my ds1 would be around 9 at least when theoretical dc3 would be ready to forward face.

Is there anything I should know about the 2011 and 2012 models of the Sienna and Odyssey?

Which features on your minivans do you absolutely love and which do you hate?

Thanks so much!

ADS

Do a search for my reviews on the Sienna and Odyssey. Short story - I have two BILs who are Toyota mechanics. Even they agreed the Odyssey was much better. It's primarily the little stuff that added up to a clear decision towards the Odyssey. No regrets.

MommyShannon

Yep, just 3 top tethers in the Sienna. The Ody has 6. I have 4 kids and love that I can move seats around anywhere. I only have 2 ff so far, but I have put them in every spot at different times. The previous model Sienna had more tethers so I'd just get a little older one if you'd prefer Toyota.

coleslawcat