One year old on ventilator

kidnurse

I am a home care nurse for a one year old (9 1/2 months adjusted) with a form of dwarfism. Baby rides in a Peg Perego bucket. He did fine in this until after his recent umbilical hernia repair. Now he gets short of breath in his car seat. It's like there wasn't enough room in his chest and abdominal cavity for all his organs and when he had the hernia it seemed to give his lung some extra space to expand, now that room is gone and we need to figure out another way for him to ride comfortably without getting short of breath.

Would he be less scrunched up in a convertible seat? Are there any medical seats out there that I am unaware of that may work better for him?

Any recommendations? Mom is kind of set on the "Britax bubble" but I'm sure if there is a seat that would be better in his situation she could be convinced.

TIA

ADS

aept

It seems like he needs something less "bucketed" but still at a full 45 degrees of recline.
I would guess something with a pretty flat back like the Radian, but shorter. A radian seems like overkill for a child who would be shorter in height.
Which newish Britax convertible is it with the infant wedge insert? I wonder if that one would be flat enough?
Perhaps something like a classic marathon - making sure it's all the way back to a 45 degree recline?
(Is he big enough for a classic Marathon? Is he still quite tiny?)

safeinthecar

Moderator - CPS Technician
I did a test fit for a preemie in a Peg Bucket on Monday and the way the headrest is shaped a rolled receiving blanket behind the shoulder blades really helped to reposition the head and chest and open up the lungs. This is actually really easy with the Peg because you can tuck the receiving blanket behind the flap of cloth that goes from the headwings down the back and it doesn't shift around.

kidnurse