LATCH in Jeep 2003 Wrangler - where are the restraints?

A

AJ_in_MD

I have a 2003 Jeep Wrangler and I've been able to locate the LATCH anchor points.
I recently puchased a Graco SnugRide 32 Infant Car Seat. (I will have a newborn in a couple months)

both manuals seem to refer to the other when it comes to installing a seat using LATCH and both reference the idea of some kind of LATCH harness restraints. While I know where the anchors are in my Jeep, it appears that restraints did not come with the car - so it seems I need to purchase them separately. However, when I do an internet search, I can't see to find anyone that sells them.

Am I missing something? Are the restraints really the seat belts attached to the latch points? I'm a little baffeled on how to install this with LATCH.

This shouldn't be that confusing... I'm an engineer...

-AJ

ADS

wendytthomas

Admin - CPST Instructor
Staff member
Hi.

There is no LATCH for the center position, so for that you'd use the seatbelt.

Outboard you should see little circle indicators. Feel under there and those are the lower anchors. If you wanted to use LATCH you would then use the LATCH straps on the Snugride 32 to attach to the lower anchors.

Honestly, I find the seatbelt much easier to do on the SR32, and if you want to put the seat in the center you need to use the seatbelt anyway. So I'd just do that. Then find a tech to show you were the LATCH is and how to use it properly. We have several techs from the board in MD, if any are close to you.

Maryland MD

Kent, Queen Anne, Talbot, Caroline, Dorchester, & Wicomico Counties, Maryland...will consider parts of Delaware.
Susan
(SusanMae)
Technician since 2007

Baltimore
Caroline
(ShunNum)
Technician since 2006
Trained in Special Needs

Baltimore County
Kathy
(NannyMom)
Technician since 2008

Wendy

Wendy