Tech's in Iowa (or anywhere), why should I get certified?

starbuck8088

Hi! My name is Megan, long time lurker here, infrequent poster. Sometime around a year ago, I developed a fascination with car seats. I've spend a lot of time reading here and doing research on my own and I've learned quite a bit. I've tossed around the idea of getting certified for a while now. I was really close to taking a course in Des Moines but it was a week after my wedding and I couldn't afford to take more time off.

The issue I'm having with this, is that as far as I can see, there isn't a whole lot going on with CPS down here (Southern Iowa.) Currently I work at a daycare, and have actually talked to a few parents about car seats. But that's about the extent of what I see. I've never heard of a seat check in my area; the closest is most likely Des Moines, which is an hour away.

I'd love to be able to say, "I'm a tech" when I answer someone's question, so they don't think I'm just some weirdo looking at car seats (not that I might not still get that response... It is the truth!). I just want to make sure there's going to be seat checks to participate in, and ways to keep my certification up.

Any advice? I'd really love to do it. My husband is encouraging me to do it. I'm just not sure it's worth it if I'm still going to be that car seat weirdo who can't do anything useful with all my knowledge.

ADS

Anne

Maybe you should get certified for all the reasons why you're considering not getting certified. Be the one to bring CPS awareness to your community. Organize a seat check (you'll have to get a senior checker on board). :twocents: