Any ideas for Car Safety Week?

tarynsmum

Senior Community Member
I'm thinking about volunteering something at DD's preschool (6week daycare up to before and after school care for elementary). The school knows I'm a tech and what it means; another tech mom also has a daughter in a different class.

The other mom attempted to do a seat-check kind of thing, and there was NO INTEREST. However, it wasn't advertised well, fwiw. I see a LOT of misuse up in there.

I was thinking about a flier, but I don't want it too overwhelming with info. And I don't want it to be so boring looking that everyone throws it out either, you know? I've been perusing SafetyBeltSafe, but I wasn't sure if there were any good brochures that someone here has made that might be nice. Or more up-to-date :)

I would attempt to make my own brochure, but I'm way too ill-equipped to do it.

ADS

Jonah Baby

I could help a bit - I was in school for four years learning graphic arts.

I would use a flier that grabs attention, and what does that best with a parent? Something that challenges their knowledge/ability to parent their child/keep them safe.
I know that sounds horrible...but people WILL stop to look.

Something like:
"How much do YOU know about your child's safety?"
"Are you REALLY keeping your child safe?"
"Is YOUR child's seat being used correctly?"

Include on the flier that (what is the statistic now?) every X/10 child seats are improperly used, tightened, installed, etc. This scares people, haha. OR, you could even use this statistic as the main line on the flier!
"Ever X/10 child seats are improperly used. How about YOURS?
Come find out at X on X with our school's Child Passenger Safety Technicians!"

The point is to make people first interested enough to read the flier - using a phrase that "challenges" their parenting, etc. - then gets them to actually want to come using curiosity - "IS my seat installed right?!"