Study abroad with family?

Victorious4

Senior Community Member
So, I've always wanted to do the study abroad thing, but life got in the way -- when I graduated highschool I was supporting myself, but got diagnosed with Crohns Disease before I could travel, then I had Leila.... It's still my dream to live in another country & how awesome would it be for Leila, too?! :D Anyway, I'm learning Italian now & my major is Education so I'm thinking that Italy would be a great place, but I know nothing about doing this & my advisor is pretty inept :eek: (If not Italy, then Scandinavia or Australia would be my other personal preference)

Does anyone have any experience, advice, etc. especially as it relates to raising a child while persuing a Graduate degree abroad :confused:

ADS

Morganthe

Hey, I'm all for seeing the world and going to school at the same time. :D I got my master's degree in adult & higher ed. through University of Oklahoma's Advanced programs in Germany. http://gradweb.ou.edu/docs/advprog/index.htm
Italy is a wonderful place to live, although the driving will likely scare the socks off you if you're not used to the Italian's version of road rules. And there are, like Hard red lights vs. optional types (no one in the intersection and miles away from anyone :rolleyes: )

If you do decide on Italy, determine if you want to live in North or south. There is a huge difference between the two in cultures, foods, and attitudes.

Since your major is in education, you might consider looking into working for the DODDS system (Dept. of Defense Dependant Schools). Excellent pay + housing allowances to live over there, especially since the dollar is so weak against the Euro.
1 euro purchases $1.35 right now :(
$1 is worth .73 euro cents.

There's programs to help you out with your education too. Leila would be eligible to attend the American schools.