Why don't manufacturers...

KaysKidz

Senior Community Member
If buckle position in/at the belt path is so critical, why don't car seat manufacturers address this in the manual? I mean, a parent who doesn't frequent a board like this, would have no way of knowing since it's not in the manual, at least not in my Radian manual...didn't check the others, but right now my issue is w/the Radian manual since this is the seat I was installing. I got a rock solid install w/my Radian XT on the driver side w/seat belt, but was told the buckle placement was a no go. So I moved it to the passenger side on the flip seat since it has a shorter fixed buckle stalk. While it installs great (even with one hand in a cast ;)), I lose access to my 3rd row. We don't use it often, but if we want to use it...someone has to climb over. Fortunately, I have a 12yr old who doesn't mind...but others might not be so willing. LOL

Also, I used to be a tech. I let my certification lapse this year, so my class was about 2.5yrs ago. I don't recall this being addressed there either. Granted, I've had twins for the last 19mo...I may have forgotten a thing or two....but I'm fairly certain this was not addressed there either.:confused:

ADS

crunchierthanthou

Britax does. There's an illustration toward the back of the convertible manuals.

I think it's a bigger issue for a locking latchplate. It's definitely not ideal for a seat with a locking retractor, but will it make it fail? I don't know. :shrug-shoulders:

NannyMom