Do I really need spare car seats?

christineka

We had 3 spares in dh's car back when we had our old van. I hated driving the van and drove dh's car as much as possible. Now we have a nice, new van. I drive it even if I'm by myself. We only need to put kids in dh's car when either we both need to go somewhere at the same time (and the kids have to come too) or when I can't find the van keys. Back in the olden days, when we had 1 seat per kid I just moved car seats when needed. Half my kids are in boosters now and those are easy to move. I think I'm a pro with the locking clip now, so it isn't a big deal. I the past 6 months a boostered kid has been in the car a bunch. A harnessed kid has been in it not more than 5 times. (Not including the two times baby dd was in the car because I actually had to move her seat.)

Is it worth it for me to have those two spare seats in dh's car or should I just let the spares go when they are needed in the van?

(Well, the booster won't since I don't like the turbo for all the time use. I plan to put the baby in the avenue though and that will leave nothing harnessed in the car.) My dh isn't in the buying kid gear club, especially when it is expensive. ($40 or more)

ADS
I would. You never know when an emergency could happen. I have had it happen twice in emergencies and I was so glad I had 2 seats at the inlaws(even if one was a booster for logan) and dh has 2 no backs in his car for emergencies only(not the ideal, but it works just in case).

I guess I should mention we have spares in our garage(that I use for daycare kiddos, but that people could just go in my garage and get if they wanted in an emergency).

Michael:
Graco No back booster x 2
Fisher price High back booster

Logan
Graco High back booster
Fisher price High back booster
Radian65
Evenflo chase(kept at grandparents)
FPSVD

Last edited:

Mama Jo

Maybe I'm having a dumb moment, but I'm confused about your question. :p

Are you asking if you should own/keep spares?