Logic and Carseat Myths

Wiggles

It just occurred to me.

Logic dictates that the carseat myths of 'baby should turn at 1 year and 20 lbs' and 'baby's feet shouldn't touch the seat back' are untrue.

Why? Well, according to the boys' growth chart I usually look at when considering the size of a child at a certain age (I'm a writer), a 95th percentile child won't hit 35 lbs until about 27 months. This is WELL after two years. And rear-and-forward facing seats (I always get convertible and combination mixed up, sorry) quite often rear face to 33 or 35 lbs.

Should it not be simple logic for most parents to realize that (almost) NO child is 33 lbs at 1 year of age and therefore they should be asking questions about the 1 and 20 rule? Should it not also be simple logic for them to realize that a 33 lb child is going to have feet hitting the seat back and that they should do more research about feet hitting the seat back? With new 40 lb rf limit seats, shouldn't the fact that these are myths be even CLEARER?

Are the majority of parents incapable of logic or is there something I'm missing here? Are they just so willing to listen to what someone else says that they can't think for themselves?

ADS

all together ooky

I think most people are looking forward to "milestones" and being able to turn their child forward-facing means their child is "growing up". Just like moving 3-year-olds into boosters-they think they're child is a "big kid". Most people find carseats an inconvenience and can't wait until their child doesn't need one. Sad, I know.
I also believe many just don't understand what a carseat is for (it's just a place to put your child in the car, right???). I wish they were called something like "child crash restraint" or "car safety seat".

*steps off my soapbox*

BookMama

Senior Community Member