HWH/HBB Help (Canada)

ontariomama

I'm new to the carseat game and I noticed something with my brother's boys last weekend. They are 5.5 yrs old, 48" and 50 lbs and 3.5 yrs old, not sure how tall and 40 lbs. He is quite tall like his brother, I think they are following similar growth patterns... they are big boys :) Anyway, the 5.5 is in a booster and the 3.5 year old has just outgrown his harnessed seat and is using a booster. I happened to peek into the car while he was in it and he did NOT fit the booster well. At all!!
I know that it would be better for the 3.5 yr old to be in a harnessed seat, but I'm not sure how receptive my brother would be to this. I'm going to try... just not guaranteeing results. Money is very tight for him, so could I get some recommendations for both a cheapish hwh and for a hbb for the 3.5 yr old.
Thanks!

ADS

unityco

Ambassador - CPS Technician
For the younger boy, you could look at the Evenflo combo seats. (Chase/Generations.) They have reasonably tall top slots, a 47lb weight limit and are pretty budget friendly. You don't want your brother using them as boosters, though - they reportedly make pretty poor ones.

Zellers has the 3-in-1 seats on sale until Thursday (tomorrow :eek:) for $110. In the flyer, they're listed as being the 40lb limit seats, and if that's *actually* the case, then they're not a solution, but if they are the *new* 50lb limit seats, they could be a good option too.

For either of those harnessed seats, you'd have to confirm that your nephew isn't too tall (through the torso) for them.

For HBB, the Turbobooster is generally the budget choice. It's on sale at Zellers this week too. However, it does have a minimum 4yo age limit on it.

HTH! :)

ontariomama