Recaro Young Sport or ?????

FiremanSal

I have a one year old daughter that is 24 lbs. and absolutely hates getting in her "Magic bucket" (its a Chicco Key Fit) so we need a new seat. I keep telling her Mother that longer she is rear facing the better. So eventually we are going to switch, anyways I was looking into the Recaro because I noticed that its side protection seemed hands down superior to any of the offerings from Britax. Not to mention the manufactorer's reputation speaks for itself. I am sure that if anyone is aware of the forces involved in car accidents and how the occupants of the seats are affected I would assume that Recaro would be it. Being a firefighter, I see car accidents all to often, and I am fully aware of how violent they can be. The head and neck are always a priority.

ADS

cadensmommy

Senior Community Member
ok well the chicco is only up to 22 pounds so you need a new seat quick! I would go for a convertible just for the safety any rear facing is much safer than a foward facing seat no matter how much side impact protecton, check out the britax boulivard its great good luck!

Clarissa

kelly

Recaro seats are great, but rear facing is far, far safer for a one year old. :) The spine of a toddler is very, very fragile. RF protects the spine better than the side impact features of any FF seat.

Here's a bunch of articles -
http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/9916868

http://www.cpsafety.com/articles/StayRearFacing.aspx (be sure to view the video at the bottom!)

http://babyproducts.about.com/b/a/244953.htm

http://www.windsorpeak.com/dc/dcboard.php?az=show_topic&forum=13&topic_id=44503&mode=full&page=
(Pictures of the development of the spine.)

And, the American Academy of Pediatrics says -

Forward-facing seats