Booster Training and good boosters?

Laurette

I'll be the first to admit that although I am a tech (haven't gotten my profile changed...) I know nothing about the different brands of booster and which are good in different sitiuations. I do know how a child should sit in one and I know about the 5 step test, but that is where my knowledge ends.

My DS will be 4 in October and I am concidering getting a booster to begin training. I am determined to keep him harnessed in the Nauti until he outgrows it but I would like the option of a booster for him to ride with my mother on occasion. I think he will do well in a booster, especially in "Mammaws" car because it has a Video player and he just watches that for the ride, KWIM.

So is 4 too early to begin occasional rides in a booster? He is 37-38 lbs now so should be close to 40 lbs if not more by then. He is about 42 in currently. He can buckle himself in his seat without twisting everytime and is very good in the car.

What reccomendations for a child his size? I would really like a booster that will be comfortable for him to use until he hits 100lbs or when ever he can sit in a regular seat belt. I like the looks of the Vivo, but is the seat debth too short? Anyone have a measurement?

One other thing worth mentioning, I think I really like the idea of a latching booter as well. My mother has latch in her car but we do not have it in ours. I am hoping that by the time he is full time in a booster we will have a different vehicle that as latch.

Thanks for reading my novel!

ADS

carseatcoach

Carseat Crankypants
For LATCHing boosters, it's pretty much the Monterey, unless you can find a Jane Indy Plus or are willing to buy a Frontier to use as a booster. The Monterey is a really nice booster, but doesn't always fit the smallest booster riders well.