Making kids safer, one question at a time.  Welcome to the Car-Seat.Org community!   Motor Vehicle Crashes are the #1 cause of fatal injury for children and adults, age groups 1 to 34.   Selecting a safe car, minivan or SUV, plus correctly using child restraints and seatbelts may be the most important things you can do to protect your family.   Need help installing an infant, convertible or booster seat?   Looking for carseat reviews or compatibility advice? Need help buying the best and safest car seats for your baby, toddler or older kid?   No question is a bad one, so please click here to ask our experts a question and then join our friendly community of moms, dads, caregivers and advocates in the USA and Canada.   Thank you for visiting; buckle-up and drive safely!


 

Sponsored Ads

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Donna B
    Guest

    Rear facing car seats

    Does anyone know if it is an Illinois state law to have your child in a rear facing carseat until the age of 1? Or is it just a strongly recommended option?

  2. # ADS
    Sponsored Ads
     
     

  3. #2
    Admin - CPST Instructor wendytthomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    29,000
    No, it doesn't.

    http://babyproducts.about.com/od/sta...linois_cps.htm

    Is this for you, or for a friend? I wish states had it be law, but most of the laws are insane anyway. Like here in NC, it's legal to remove a child from a child restraint to "meet their needs." Ugh.

    HTH

    Wendy
    wendy, cpst-i mom to
    piper, 7/26/02, 62", 108#, seatbelt, driving her own car
    laine 9/16/09, 54", 96#, Nuna Aaces, Diono Solana 2
    in my husband's 2018 Toyota Land Cruiser, my 2017 Volvo XC90, and big sister's 2016 Honda Civic
    https://www.car-seat.org/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=1353&dateline=1552329  785

  4. #3
    CPS Fanatic abacus2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    1,255
    Illinois State Law Wording
    "When any person is transporting a child in this State under the age of 8 years in a non‑commercial motor vehicle of the first division, a motor vehicle of the second division with a gross vehicle weight rating of 9,000 pounds or less, or a recreational vehicle on the roadways, streets or highways of this State, such person shall be responsible for providing for the protection of such child by properly securing him or her in an appropriate child restraint system."

    Since the law requires an "appropriate child restraint system," children must be RFing to a minimum of 1 year AND 20 lbs. This is an absolute safety requirement and is listed in car seat manuals as a requirement. Not RFing a child under 1 year puts them at serious risk of dying (even in an accident where others aren't injured) when their spinal cord is damaged because babies' neck bones can stretch further than the spinal cord can.

    Check out thecarseatlady.com to learn more about why RFing is required.
    Liz
    Mom to:
    Rachael (11/03), Emily (8/06), and Naomi (1/09)

  5. #4
    Donna B
    Guest

    Rear facing car seats

    My son is almost 7 months old, and I do not intend on putting him forward facing until at least one year old. I noticed another mom dropping off her child at daycare and her seat was forward. I know that her daughter is only 8 months old and was not sure what the law actually stated. I want to say something to her, but didn't want to give wrong information.

  6. #5
    Admin - CPST Instructor wendytthomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    29,000
    Quote Originally Posted by Donna B View Post
    My son is almost 7 months old, and I do not intend on putting him forward facing until at least one year old. I noticed another mom dropping off her child at daycare and her seat was forward. I know that her daughter is only 8 months old and was not sure what the law actually stated. I want to say something to her, but didn't want to give wrong information.
    What seat is he in? The AAP recommends that kids RF until the maximum weight limit of the seat (not the infant seat, the convertible they go into next). The lowest convertible RFing weight limit is 30 pounds, the highest is 35. So hopefully your son will stay RFing for many more years. :-)

    I hope the other mother realizes what danger her daughter is in. At that age (the risk decreases until age 6 when the bones in the neck completely ossify) the vertebrae can move up to 2", but the spinal column can only move 1/4". It's called internal decapitation. The baby would look like she's sleeping. :-(

    Wendy
    wendy, cpst-i mom to
    piper, 7/26/02, 62", 108#, seatbelt, driving her own car
    laine 9/16/09, 54", 96#, Nuna Aaces, Diono Solana 2
    in my husband's 2018 Toyota Land Cruiser, my 2017 Volvo XC90, and big sister's 2016 Honda Civic
    https://www.car-seat.org/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=1353&dateline=1552329  785

  7. #6
    CPSDarren - Admin SafeDad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    11,973
    Technically, the law does not require rear-facing in Illinois. "Appropriate" could be at the whim of the officer writing a ticket, you'd be at the mercy of how much they knew about carseats and whether or not you wanted to fight it in traffic court.

    Might as well just be safe, both in regards to the welfare of your child and for your driving record and pocketbook in regards to a citation.

    Also: http://www.car-safety.org/rearface.html

    And Illinois CPS Resources: http://www.seatcheck.net

  8. #7
    CPS Fanatic abacus2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    1,255
    Enforcement and what the law says can be 2 different things. Whether a police officer understands the law does not change the law, it simply means that some police officers need more training. The law says "appropriate" and it is impossible to use any car seat "appropriately" FFing for an under 1 year old as none of the car seats on the market's instructions allow for a 1 year old to be FFing. Granted, there are some 20lb limit RFing seats still around that might allow FFing before 1 year, but most people have seats newer than this and before long all of these seats will be expired and won't be able to be used at all "appropriately." For example, the law in Tennessee requires a FFing child restraint (clearly different from the boosters required from age 4 to 8) to age 4 with no exceptions for being over 40 lbs, but I'd say the chances of being ticketed for having a 2 or 3 year old in a booster are approximately zero. A lot of people think boosters are just a type of car seat with the only difference between using a harness or a seatbelt being convenience.
    Liz
    Mom to:
    Rachael (11/03), Emily (8/06), and Naomi (1/09)

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •