CBC Canadian car seat research

S

sawat

CBC Car seat research

Hi there. I'm a producer with the CBC's network consumer unit. We are currently researching the topic of car seat safety. I'm interesed in speaking with Canadians with knowledge or opinions about this topic. We are also particularly interested in speaking with Canadians who were affected by last year's voluntary recall by Combi USA. In March of 2008 Comi recalled the Centre, Centre ARB, and Shuttle Rear Facing Infant Restraints. More details below. I can be reached at timothy.sawa@cbc.ca. Or by phone (collect, if you want) at 204-788-3739.

Thanks,
Timothy Sawa
Producer
CBC TV

Combi USA, Inc. Announces a Voluntary Safety Recall of the Centre, Centre ARB and Shuttle Rear Facing Infant Restraints
Combi USA, Inc. Announces a Voluntary Safety Recall of the Centre, Centre ARB and Shuttle Rear Facing Infant Restraints

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Fort Mill, SC March 3, 2008 - Combi USA, Inc. (Combi) is announcing a voluntary safety recall of the Centre, Centre ARB, and Shuttle Rear Facing Infant Restraints. The Centre and Shuttle were manufactured from October 19, 2005 to December 15, 2007. No other models are affected by this recall. Combi USA, Inc., the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration and Transport Canada conducted numerous in-vehicle laboratory tests to analyze the overall effectiveness of the Centre and Shuttle in motor vehicle frontal crashes. In some cases these tests exceeded the requirements of the current US standard. The test data revealed that the seat of the restraint could potentially separate from its base, when tested under these conditions.